Anna Celeste Burke's Cover Redo Extravaganza!

Friday, May 11, 2018


It's
Cozy Food Friday
and a
Book Tour!

That means it's time to share a recipe from 
another great cozy mystery
and host a wonderful author!


I'm thrilled to be a stop on the blog tour for author
Maymee Bell
and
Book 1 in the Southern Cake Baker Mysteries
CAKE & PUNISHMENT


In the first of a delectable new Southern-set baking cozy series, Sophia Cummings, pastry chef extraordinaire, must craft the perfect cake for an old friend’s wedding while sifting through the suspects in a murder. 

Bucolic Rumford, Kentucky has glowing fields of bluegrass, a fine selection of bourbons, and now a professional pastry chef. Broken-hearted Sophia Cummings has come home from New York City. She’s not there a minute before she’s charmed into making her high school friend Charlotte’s wedding cake. The kitchen at the Rumford Country Club seems perfect until Chef Emile’s body is discovered, sprawled near the stove, a cast iron skillet on the floor close by. With one look at the shiny, new frying pan, Sophia knows it’s not Emile’s. She offers her knowledge to Sheriff Carter and her talents to Evelyn, the manager, who needs an interim chef. The mood in the country club is grim: Emile’s peppery personality had burned members and staff alike. Sophia wonders which one of them burned him? 

Perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke and JoAnna Carl, Cake and Punishment―with authentic Southern recipes!―will satisfy your sweet tooth.

📗📖📗📖📗

MY REVIEW


Southern cozy at it’s finest, author Maymee Bell has penned what is sure to be one of the top new cozy mysteries of 2018.

As a lover of culinary cozies, I had been looking forward to CAKE & PUNISHMENT since I first heard about it. Starting a new series can be a bit dicey. You’re never sure if it will live up to your expectations. I’m happy to say, this book did that and more!

CAKE & PUNISHMENT drew me in immediately. Great characters, southern charm, detailed descriptions that made me feel like I was part of the story, and a truly wonderful murder mystery all kept me turning page after page until I was blindsided by the clever reveal.  

If you have to be choosy about what books you can buy, make sure CAKE & PUNISHMENT is one of the ones you choose. Seriously, a fabulous mystery, and tasty recipes, you won’t go wrong with this one!

📗📖📗📖📗

!!!GIVEAWAY!!!

1 lucky reader will win a

Kindle!

USA only

Enter using the Rafflecopter form at the end of this post.

This giveaway is through Great Escape Book Tours, not Lisa Ks Book Reviews.


📗📖📗📖📗

🍽🍽🍽🍽🍽🍽🍽

On To The Recipe!

KENTUCKY DERBY PIE

Photo property of attagirl.com
Photos  found via Google Images, and its contributors, with many thanks. 
Your finished dish will vary in appearance.

(from Maymee Bell’s mama’s, Linda Lowry, own recipe book)

My Mama’s Derby Pie is smack your mama good! It’s a southern pie with walnuts and chocolate chips. You can use pecans in substitute for the walnuts, but I really like my walnuts!


Ingredients:
½ cup melted butter
1 cup sugar
½ cup flour
2 beaten eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
¾ cup walnuts or pecans (your choice not both!)
¾ cup chocolate chips (or more if you really want it gooey!)

Directions
   Mix in the order that’s written under the ingredients. This is very important. Pour the mixture into an unbaked 9 inch pie shell. Bake at 350° for 30 minutes. 

Photo property of httpplayzwithfood.com

I am not a pie eater. I haven't found one I like.
But this pie? Oh yeah, I'm ready to give this one a try!

📕📖📘📖📙📖📗

Please keep reading to check out my 
installments of 
Book Beginnings on Fridays
and
The Friday 56

Both the BB and 56 are from


CAKE & PUNISHMENT

Book Beginnings on Fridays is a meme hosted by Rose City Reader
Share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading.

The Friday 56 is a meme hosted by Freda's Voice
Rules: *Grab a book, any book. *Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader (If you have to improvise, that's okay.) *Find any sentence, (or few, just don't spoil it) that grab you. *Post it.

My Book Beginnings

   "Vrrrrrrr. Vrr. Vrrr. Vrrrrrrrr." The sound of the electric mixer was music to my ears. It was like coming home. "Vrrrrrrrr. Vrrrrrr." I held the mixing bowl under the whisk, blending and folding the icing to perfect consistency."

My 56%

   "You're crazier than a bedbug." I shook my head, but I wasn't convinced that I meant it.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

As always, please leave a comment and 
let me know what you think!

Follow my blog by 
clicking on the link in the 
upper right hand corner of this page.

8 comments:

  1. I knew when I saw this recipe that I'm going to have to try it. The photo of the pie just screams "EAT ME!".

    My first line –
    “Thank you, Hope Early, for joining us and sharing all of your tips for spring cleaning. I’m sure you’ve inspired our listeners to get busy and start cleaning out their homes,” Morning Pete of WPTX radio said.
    THE UNINVITED CORPSE
    By Debra Sennefelder
    My 56 –
    “Is it true?” Wallace leaned in after removing his baseball cap that had the logo of his company embroidered on it. He ran his fingers through his thinning brown hair. “Peaches was murdered?”

    ReplyDelete
  2. That pie looks yummy. Thanks, Lisa, and happy Friday!

    ReplyDelete
  3. The recipe sounds good but maybe a little too sweet for me. I recently read and enjoyed this book. This week I am highlighting The Queen of Sorrow by Sarah Beth Durst. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sounds like a fun read, and that pie does look yummy!! Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  5. That pie looks delicious! Thanks for sharing about the book and the recipe.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I am looking forward to reading this!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sorry I missed the giveaway!
    My page 56 - “I gave you exact change,” she said. “I don’t like being taken advantage of, young lady.”

    ReplyDelete
  8. I always look forward to these recipes. :)

    ReplyDelete