Saturday, December 19, 2020

In today's author spotlight, I shine my light on the 
incomparable author
Carolyn Hart.

Carolyn's newest book is
Book 9 in the Baily Ruth Mysteries

New York Times bestselling author Carolyn Hart's warm-hearted sleuth returns in the ninth Bailey Ruth Ghost Novel, with a case that will test even her Heavenly powers

After a busy morning dispatching emissaries from Heaven's Department of Good Intentions to those in need, Bailey Ruth Raeburn is feeling flush with success. So when an urgent call for help comes through from her old hometown, she can't resist taking on the mission herself. After all, what could go wrong?

With the shouted warning of her boss, Wiggins - "Irregular! Problematic!" - ringing in her ears, she arrives to face a shocking scene: Professor Iris Gallagher leaning over the corpse of her colleague Matt Lambert, the murder weapon clutched in her hand.

Bailey Ruth is only sent to help the innocent, but things are looking very black for Iris. With Wiggins breathing down her neck, and her old friend Police Chief Sam Cobb casting doubt on her every theory, Bailey Ruth must uncover the truth - or this could be the last trip to earth she's ever allowed to make.


Carolyn Hart is the author of 60 novels (Now 61). After GHOST UPS HER GAME, her most recent titles are GHOST ON THE CASE and WALKING ON MY GRAVE. 


Her works include mysteries and suspense novels ranging from first century Rome to World War II to the current digital world. She is the author of the Death on DemandHenrie O, and Bailey Ruth series as well as a number of stand-alones.  

a WWII stand-alone novel set in Oklahoma, was published by Berkley in 2003. Gretchen Gilman is 13 in the summer of 1944 and working on the small town newspaper. Murder occurs on the street where she lives, changing her life forever.

  LETTER FROM HOME was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize by the Oklahoma Center for Poets and Writers at Oklahoma State University Tulsa. LETTER FROM HOME won the Agatha for Best Mystery Novel of 2003 and was a New York Times notable book.

DEAD MAN’S ISLAND, the first in the Henrie O series, was a 1996 CBS TV movie starring Barbara Eden, William Shatner, Morgan Fairchild, and Roddy McDowall.

Hart was one of ten mystery authors featured at the National Book Festival on the Mall in Washington D.C. in 2003 and again in 2007. In March 2004 she received the Arrell Gibson Lifetime Achievement Award from the Oklahoma Center for the Book. She has twice won the annual Oklahoma Book Award for best novel. In April 2004 she spoke at the Library of Congress in Washington D.C. on mysteries in American culture. She received the Ridley Pearson Award at Murder in Grove, Boise, Idaho, in 2005 for significant contributions to the mystery field. She has received the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Amelia Award from Malice Domestic. In 2014, she was named a Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America.

Hart is a native of Oklahoma City, a Phi Beta Kappa journalism graduate of the University of Oklahoma, and a former president of Sisters in Crime. She is also a member of Authors Guild, Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, the International Crime Writers Association, the International Thrillers Association, and the American Crime Writers League. She taught professional writing in the University of Oklahoma School of Journalism from 1982-85. She is the author of 60 (61) novels, winner of three Agatha Awards for Best Novel, two Anthonys and two Macavitys.


Death on Demand, 1987
Design for Murder, 1988
Something Wicked, 1988
Honeymoon With Murder, 1989
A Little Class on Murder, 1989
Deadly Valentine, 1990
The Christie Caper, 1991
Southern Ghost, 1992
Mint Julep Murder, 1995
Yankee Doodle Dead, 1998
White Elephant Dead, 1999
Sugarplum Dead, 2000
April Fool Dead, 2002
Engaged to Die, 2003
Murder Walks the Plank, 2004
Death of the Party, 2005
Dead Days of Summer, 2006
Death Walked In, 2008
Dare to Die, 2009
Laughed ’til He Died, 2010
Dead by Midnight, 2011
Death Comes Silently, 2012
Dead, White and Blue, May 2013
Death at the Door, May 2014
Don't Go Home,  May 2015
Walking on My Grave, May 2017


Ghost at Work, 2008
Merry, Merry Ghost, 2009
Ghost in Trouble, 2010
Ghost Gone Wild, October 2013
Ghost Wanted, October 2014
Ghost to the Rescue, October 2015
Ghost Times Two, October 2016
 Ghost on the Case, October 2017
Ghost Ups Her Game, August 2020

HENRIE O series

Titles in the Henrie O series
Dead Man’s Island, 1993
Scandal in Fair Haven, 1994
Death in Lovers’ Lane, 1997
Death in Paradise, 1998
Death on the River Walk, 1999
Resort to Murder, 2001
Set Sail for Murder, 2007

I could keep going on about this wonderful author, but I'll have you head to Carolyn's blog to learn more about her. 
Click here for

As always, please leave a comment and 
let me know what you think!

Follow my blog by submitting your email in 
upper right hand corner of this page (on the side bar).

Reading from your phone? Scroll to the bottom of your page and click "View web version". Then follow the above directions.

Carolyn Hart - Home


  1. Can't wait for the opportunity to read "GHOST UP HER GAME".
    2clowns at arkansas dot net

  2. Thanks, Lisa!
    Happy Saturday.
    Pat T.

  3. So glad you featured the fabulous Carolyn Hart!! A lovely tribute to a great writer.