Wednesday, November 29, 2017

I'm so excited to join Berkley Mystery in celebrating the December 5 paperback release of 
by author
Laura Childs

is book 7 in the Cackleberry Club Mysteries

The ladies of the Cackleberry Club seek a killer in the latest mystery from New York Timesbestselling author Laura Childs. 

Maintaining good personal relationships with their suppliers is one of the secrets of the Cackleberry Club café’s success, so Suzanne doesn’t mind going out to Mike Mullen’s dairy farm to pick up some wheels of cheese. She’s looking forward to a nice visit with the mild-mannered farmer before heading back to their hectic kitchen.

But when she arrives, Mike’s nowhere to be found. The moaning of his cows leads her to look in the barn, where she discovers a bloodcurdling sight—the farmer’s dead body. Apparently not everyone was as fond of Mike Mullen as the Cackleberry Club.

Churning with grief and outrage, Suzanne, Petra, and Toni vow to find the farmer’s murderer—but as they get closer to the truth, the desperate killer gets whipped into a frenzy and plans to put the squeeze on them…



One lucky reader will win a print copy of


Enter using the Rafflecopter form at the end of this post.

USA only

This giveaway was made possible by Berkley Mystery



From my original hardcover review

Lucky number seven? Luck has nothing to do with the seventh installment of the Cackleberry Club Mysteries. Brilliant writing however, that has everything to do with it! 

Scramble feisty leads and eclectic townsfolk, with action, humor, and wonderful food, add in mystery that will keep you guessing with every turn of the page, and there you have EGG DROP DEAD. 

Author Laura Childs doesn’t keep readers waiting for the excitement in EGG DROP DEAD. The mystery in this tale starts off in the first chapter and keeps building from there. It was impossible not to get drawn into this story. 

I guessed whodunit after only a few chapters! But, um . . . of course I was wrong. This book went in a completely different way than I expected, which made for truly great reading. Laura Childs has a real talent for leading you where she wants you to go, and then switching directions so fast you won’t know what hit you. 

The Cackleberry Club series has really grown since book one, and has developed into a must read on my TBR as I’m sure it will become for you! Come on book eight!

Make sure to check out the back of this book for a bunch of great recipes!
Available December 5!
Pre-order now


About Laura

Laura Childs is the New York Times bestselling author of the Tea Shop Mysteries, Scrapbook Mysteries, and Cackleberry Club Mysteries. In her previous life she was CEO/Creative Director of her own marketing firm and authored several screenplays. She is married to a professor of Chinese art history, loves to travel, rides horses, enjoys fund raising for various non-profits, and has two Chinese Shar-Pei dogs.

Laura specializes in cozy mysteries that have the pace of a thriller (a thrillzy!) Her three series are:

The Tea Shop Mysteries - set in the historic district of Charleston and featuring Theodosia Browning, owner of the Indigo Tea Shop. Theodosia is a savvy entrepreneur, and pet mom to service dog Earl Grey. She’s also an intelligent, focused amateur sleuth who doesn’t rely on coincidences or inept police work to solve crimes. This charming series is highly atmospheric and rife with the history and mystery that is Charleston.

The Scrapbooking Mysteries – a slightly edgier series that take place in New Orleans. The main character, Carmela, owns Memory Mine scrapbooking shop in the French Quarter and is forever getting into trouble with her friend, Ava, who owns the Juju Voodoo shop. New Orleans’ spooky above-ground cemeteries, jazz clubs, bayous, and Mardi Gras madness make their presence known here!

The Cackleberry Club Mysteries - set in Kindred, a fictional town in the Midwest. In a rehabbed Spur station, Suzanne, Toni, and Petra, three semi-desperate, forty-plus women have launched the Cackleberry Club. Eggs are the morning specialty here and this cozy cafe even offers a book nook and yarn shop. Business is good but murder could lead to the cafe’s undoing! This series offers recipes, knitting, cake decorating, and a dash of spirituality.

Time to enter the giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

As always, please leave a comment and 
let me know what you think!

Follow my blog by 
clicking on the link in the 
upper right hand corner of this page.


  1. Thanks, Lisa. The Cackleberry Club series sounds great. I need to check it out. Happy Wednesday!

  2. I can't believe that I have not read any of Laura Child's books, but really want to. I enjoyed your review Lisa!

  3. If the information about EGG DROP DEAD didn't make me want to read it (which it did), then your review cinched it for me. Thank you!

  4. These sound good I will add to my list