A Summer Facebook Party

A Summer Facebook Party
Mattie Hatter and the Gilded Gauge

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

BOOK TOUR


I'm so excited to be a stop on the 
book tour for 
Carrie Doyle
and her new book
DEATH ON WEST END ROAD
Book 3 in the Hampton's Murder Mysteries


More murder in the Hamptons, from best-selling author Carrie Doyle!

Death on West End Road is the third book in best-selling author Carrie Doyle’s Hamptons Murder Mystery Series. Along with a colorful cast of supporting characters, the beating heart of the book is Antonia Bingham, restaurateur, gourmand, and nosy carb-lover. For readers who love Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone series and Alexander McCall Smith’s No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency, look no further than Doyle’s new series!
An unsolved crime is something that Hamptons innkeeper and sleuth Antonia Bingham just can’t resist. Despite a busy high-season schedule and an inn booked to capacity, Antonia has agreed to investigate a cold case in her beloved adopted hometown, East Hampton, NY: the killing of Susie Whitaker, whose brutal 1990 slaying on a tennis court in the poshest part of town was never solved.
And the person who has hired Antonia? Prime suspect Pauline Framingham, a manipulative pharmaceutical heiress from a powerful family. As Antonia attempts to unravel the mysteries of the past she unearths even darker secrets and ultimately wonders if it would have been best to let sleeping dogs lie. To make matters worse, past acquaintances and love interests reappear in the Hamptons, disrupting Antonia's world and causing her to scurry to the fridge for comfort.
Join Antonia for this gripping new installment in the Hamptons Murder Mystery series from Carrie Doyle!
A Word From Carrie

JUST WRITE!
By Carrie Doyle

As a child of the eighties, growing up everyone around me quoted The Church Lady’s catchphrase Well, isn’t that special. Dana Carvey’s iconic performance on Saturday Night Live as the Church Lady was a cultural benchmark. Of course, when The Church Lady uttered the phrase she was being disapproving and implying that the person she was talking to should get off her high horse.

I think of that catchphrase often when I am making excuses for why I’m not sitting down and writing. There are always so many other things to be done, so many distractions around: bills to be paid; dogs to be walked; kids to be instructed to do their homework and dinner to be made. But as a writer, it is important not to create false standards for doing your job. Writing is indeed a skill, but like all skills, you only get better when you practice. The most important thing a writer can do is write. All the time!

I have friends who are aspiring writers who complain that the setting in their house or office isn’t conducive to getting their work done. My advice to them is that you can’t be precious. Look, even Virginia Woolf dreamed of having a room of her own where she could do her work, but she clearly accomplished a lot without it. If you want to be a professional writer, you need to be able to sit down with chaos around you and write. If you are really excited by the work you will hyper-focus and you could be on the set of The Fast and the Furious with explosions taking place around you and you will still get your work done. It really just takes practice. And not relegating writing to the ‘special’ category. 

~*~*~*~*~*~

*****!!!GIVEAWAY!!!*****


Winners will be chosen after June 30
at the end of the tour

Enter using the Rafflecopter form at the end of this post.

Giveaway open to USA only


This giveaway is through Great Escape Book Tours, not Lisa Ks Book Reviews.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

As always, please leave a comment and 
let me know what you think!

Follow my blog by 
clicking on the link in the 
upper right hand corner of this page.

6 comments:

  1. Thank you for including Carrie Doyle and her latest book on your blog. I haven't read any of her books but hope to change that soon. Your blog is so very helpful to readers to find out about new authors and books.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks, Lisa. Happy Wednesday, to you.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for this intriguing feature and giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Lisa, I just wanted to say how much I enjoy reading all your posts. I am reading & reviewing this book for Kings River Life & loving it. Thanks for sharing it with us & the chance to win all three books in the series, as I want to read the others now. LOL

    ReplyDelete
  5. I would love to read this series. I've never been to the Hamptons and would really enjoy reading about life in the Hamptons.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete